News - Team HCC - NYTBCL 2020 T10 Champions (Premier Division)
View News

Team HCC - NYTBCL 2020 T10 Champions (Premier Division)

12/21/2020POSTED BY Rohan Tendulkar

Team HCC - NYTBCL 2020 T10 Champions (Premier Division)

Hicksville Cricket Club (HCC) lifts NYTBCL 2020 T-10 Trophy (Premier Division)
 By Yash Panchal
  • Scorecard: President’s XI LI – 46 all out in 10 overs, HCC 47-2 in 8.3 overs
NEW YORK: On October 18, 2020, HCC successfully defended their T-10 title by beating President’s XI LI by 8 wickets. This was 5th cup for HCC in NYTBCL tournaments.

Rohan Tendulkar, the captain of HCC won the toss elected to field first. PXI LI lost their captain Vijay Kapoor 11 (8), in the third over caught by Shine David and bowled by Jignesh Shah. After the third over score was 18/1. PXI of LI lost one of their main batsman Rajiv Nair 1 (2), in the fourth over with a brilliant diving catch by the captain/keeper of HCC Rohan Tendulkar bowled by Joji Babu. Joji Babu in his second over dismissed Bhavin Maniar 1 (8) caught by Vamsi Krishna Paturi under pressure and Samitha L 0 (2) caught by Jignesh Shah. He finished his spell of 2 overs with 3 wickets by giving only 9 runs. PXI LI were 29/4 at the end of 6 overs. Seventh over was tightly bowled by Ravi Patel.
In 8th over, Yash Panchal dismissed their opener Biren Dhulia 11 (19) with another unbelievable catch by Rohan Tendulkar behind the stumps. In the same over, PXI LI lost Pritesh P caught by Jignesh Shah. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals. They lost Harshit K 6 (9) next in a run out going for a nonexistent single. Again, the credit goes to Rohan Tendulkar. PXI LI was 40/7 at the end of 9 overs. Yash Panchal was back into the attack for the last over. Nimit 1 (3) was dismissed next caught by Vamsi Krishna P. Md Shahadat Ullah 0 (0) and Yaruq H 5 (5) were involved in a run out ending the innings of PXI LI for 46. Target for HCC was 47 in 10 overs. It was a dominating performance by the HCC bowlers. In the semi-final, HCC bowlers defended 53 runs and won by 21 runs against Hicksville Hawks.

In the chase, HCC lost their captain Rohan Tendulkar in the third ball itself bowled by Yaruq H and an excellent catch under pressure by Harshit K. Not the start HCC were looking for. PXI LI was pumped up as expected. At the end of 2 overs HCC were 5/1. It was the third over bowled by Yaruq H that changed the momentum towards HCC. 14 runs were scored in that over and six at the last ball hit by Shridhar Singamshetty. It was the shot of the match. Short ball and excellent pull shot by Shridhar S. Rohit Yadav at the other end played sensibly. Shridhar and Rohit took HCC to 45 runs at the end of 8 overs. Only two runs were needed but unfortunately Shridhar got run out 22 (22) in the first ball of 8th over. Shridhar and Rohit both played the innings of their life. Winning run was scored by Rohit Yadav who remained unbeaten 20 (27).  And with that HCC was Champion yet again. Man of the Match was Yash Panchal for his spell of 2 overs with 3 wickets giving 7 runs and 2 run outs.

This cup remains special for HCC as they didn’t participate in the Summer Cup of NYBTCL 2020 due to COVID-19. They were back as a team after 7 months. It wasn’t easy coming back after a few months. In league stages they struggled in a few games, but they knew what they are capable of. They are known to step up in big games and that’s what they did. HCC remains the most successful team of NYTBCL. In 2019, HCC won all 4 trophies starting with NYTBCL Spring then NYTBCL Summer, NYTBCL T-10 and NYTBCL Indoor tournament which was organized in February of 2020 before the pandemic began.
The entire tournament was well organized and necessary COVID prevention protocols were put in place. We would like to thank all the individuals who stepped up and provided unending support.
Mr. Ajith Bhaskar, President (NYTBCL) and Director of USA Cricket
Mr. Imran Pasha, Administrator
Mr. Ajith Ganesh, Treasurer
Mr. Rohan Tendulkar, Coordinator

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login